IPAA Victoria

Leadership Awards 2018


Leadership in the Public Sector Awards 2018

The IPAA Victoria Leadership in the Public Sector Awards 2018 are closed for nominations. The category finalists were announced in mid-December 2018 and advised via email.

For over 10 years, the Leadership in the Public Sector Awards have celebrated the excellence and innovation of teams and organisations working in, and with, the public sector in Victoria at all three levels of government. The awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge your team’s achievements and share your story with peers across the public sector.

In 2018, IPAA Victoria is proud to present a refreshed set of award categories. Categories cover core public sector activities in policymakingservice delivery and regulation, as well as communication excellenceenvironmental sustainability and robust governance. There is a new award celebrating leading public sector employers and a new award recognising initiatives advancing Aboriginal self-determination.

Nominations are also open for the biennial Young Indigenous Leader Scholarship. 


IPAA Victoria Personal Members, Fellows and those employed by an IPAA Victoria Corporate Member can nominate their organisation for an award.

Key dates

Nominations close: 5pm Monday 22 October 2018, extended to 5pm Monday 22 October. (Note, nominations are now closed).

Finalists announced: mid-December 2018 (see the Finalists)

Awards ceremony invitations issued: mid-December 2018

Winners announced at awards ceremony: Tuesday 19 February 2019 (TBC)

Next steps

  1. Review the award categories and conditions of entry.

  2. Prepare your nomination(s). Each nomination includes:

    1. Summary of the nomination (max 200 words)

    2. Response to the assessment criteria (max 1,400 words)

    3. Optional supporting materials in one Word Doc/PDF (up to six pages)

    4. Details of two referees.

  3. Submit your nomination using the online form found in each award category's info page. Note, nominations for 2018 have now closed.

Award categories

1. Advancing Aboriginal Self-Determination Award

Empowering Aboriginal communities to achieve long-term change and improved outcomes, through developing new relationships and new ways of working.

The Advancing Aboriginal Self-Determination Award is proudly sponsored by Hall & Wilcox.

2. Communication Excellence Award

Delivering public value through communication excellence

The Communication Excellence award is proudly sponsored by the TAC - Transport Accident Commission.

3. Evidence-Based Policy Award

Excellence in evidence-based policymaking

The Evidence-Based Policy Award is proudly sponsored by the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

4. Human-Centred Service Delivery Award

Placing the community at the centre of public services

The Human-Centred Service Delivery Award is proudly sponsored by the Department of Health and Human Services.

5. Innovative Regulation Award

Smart approaches to regulating; for a better community and stronger economy

The Innovative Regulation Award is proudly sponsored by the Department of Justice and Community Safety.

6. Leading Employer Award

Creating the public sector workforces and workplaces of the future

The Leading Employer Award is proudly sponsored by Fisher Leadership.

7. Robust Governance Award

Delivering resilient public entities and embedding integrity

The Robust Governance Award is proudly sponsored by the Victorian Public Sector Commission.

8. Sustainable Communities and Environments Award

Leading, creating and empowering for environmental and community sustainability outcomes

The Sustainable Communities and Environments Award is proudly sponsored by the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.


Young Indigenous Leader Scholarship

This scholarship acknowledges and supports Indigenous public sector employees by offering a professional development scholarship to a high performing Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person.


Helpful links

Past winners


Call us on (03) 9653 2000 or email awards@vic.ipaa.org.au.