IPAA Victoria

Latest News

Keep up to date with IPAA Victoria.
We also share/post articles of interest to members here.
Register for update emails!
See our latest Tweets!

See all the winners of the 2018 Leadership in the Public Sector Awards


On 19 February, the annual IPAA Victoria Leadership in the Public Sector Awards ceremony was held in Melbourne at Deakin Edge, Federation Square.

In an exciting night, more than 300 people joined in to celebrate and congratulate their peers, who were recognised for innovative and inspiring public programs, initiatives and services.

Now in their 11th year, the Awards have grown in reputation, with this year’s Awards attracting over 90 nominees across 8 categories. Brand new awards include the fields of innovative regulation, robust governance, leading employers and recognising initiatives that advance Aboriginal self-determination.

This year’s awards also featured the biennial Young Indigenous Leaders Scholarship, offering a professional development program to a high-performing Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person. The JA Aird Award was also presented to the student who receives the highest score in the Public Policy subject at the University of Melbourne.

"These Awards recognise the inspirational leaders, on all levels, who inspire and build the reputation of our public sector. I would like to congratulate all the winners and finalists who have demonstrated such success within the Victorian public sector.” - David Ali, Chief Executive Officer of IPAA Victoria

The awards winners are:

Advancing Aboriginal Self-Determination Award
Department of Premier and Cabinet (VIC) for Budj Bim World Heritage Nomination Project
Aboriginal Justice Caucus for Burra Lotjpa Dunguludja - The Aboriginal Justice Agreement Phase 4 project

Communication Excellence Award
Department of Premier and Cabinet for Deadly Questions

Evidence-Based Policy Award
Department of Health and Human Services (VIC) for SafeScript: Real-Time Prescription Monitoring Implementation

Human-Centred Service Delivery Award
Transport for Victoria for Designing Melbourne’s High Capacity Metro Trains

Innovative Regulation Award
Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation for A fresh approach to regulation - New digital tool provides consistent risk assessment

Leading Employer Award
Westernport Water

Robust Governance Award
Department of Education and Training for Education State Board

Sustainable Communities and Environments Award
Wyndham City Council for Wyndham Solar City

Young Indigenous Leaders Scholarship
Bonnie Cavanagh (Victoria Police)

JA Aird Award
Wai Huen (Charlotte) Choi